Wednesday, February 10, 2010

What is the penalty for filing a false police charge in Maryland?

thanks :)What is the penalty for filing a false police charge in Maryland?
The exact punishment will vary based on the circumstances of the case. The applicable law is:





搂 9-501. False statement - To law enforcement officer.





';A person may not make, or cause to be made, a statement, report, or complaint that the person knows to be false as a whole or in material part, to a law enforcement officer...with intent to deceive and to cause an investigation or other action to be taken as a result of the statement, report, or complaint.';





The penalty can be up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine up to $500.What is the penalty for filing a false police charge in Maryland?
Depends on what the false report was about...





Anything related to a child or child welfare has humongous penalties associated with it - be prepared to empty out your bank account for the next 2 or 3 years to pay off the fines.





If it was about a felony, then you will be charged with a felony yourself - probably zero jail time other than when they arrest you to charge you with it, and a hefty fine, probably under $5k





If it was for something like domestic battery, then you may be liable for a civil suit afterwards, but may be fined like $1500 or so.


  • hack myspace
  • No comments:

    Post a Comment

    Post a Comment